Should I Get My Master’s to Advance my PR Career?

Should I Get My Master’s to Advance my PR Career?

Post Via : Amanda Miller LittleJohn

http://www.millerlittlejohnmedia.com/2010/03/30/should-i-get-my-masters-to-advance-my-pr-career/

More education DOES equal more debt. It just does. Don’t just do what your friends are doing if you honestly don’t feel it’s necessary. I’m a firm believer in on-the-job training; and there’s so much changing in our industry that on-the-job training probably makes more sense right now anyway. A lot of people probably wouldn’t like to hear me say that. But wouldn’t you rather work and get paid 40k to learn in one year than pay 40k to a school to learn the same things from a theoretical perspective?

HOWEVER, given the precarious state of our current job market, it may be difficult to even get your foot in the door to get the full-time job that offers you a salary while you learn on the job. So what do you do in this scenario? In this case, if you can get your education financed affordably and you’re not going to go into an insane amount of debt to pay off your degree, then consider it. But remember, a graduate degree is not a guarantee of a job or better job prospects. And the absence of a graduate degree on your resume won’t necessarily keep you from getting the job that you want. It all depends on you.

If you are trying to get into a management position at an agency, you need to be working at an agency. If you want to do non-profit PR, get at a non-profit. If you want to go association, get at an association. If you want to own your own firm, start freelancing. If you want to rise to the top at an agency, you need an account executive position. You may even need to to start with an internship position which I’m sure that you can get. If you are hungry enough, anything is possible.

This post comes via Amanda  Littlejohn http://www.millerlittlejohnmedia.com/2010/03/30/should-i-get-my-masters-to-advance-my-pr-career/

This is our take:

If you want to get a MASTERS get it in another field ANYTHING but PR.  Most schools have professors who have never worked in the industry or haven’t been in the industry in decades.  The knowledge that you gain is text book PR.  REAL WORLD PR is the best education you can get.  I have my masters in public relations and NO ONE has ever asked to see it in all my 20+ years in the industry. So the choice is yours spend time as a career student or get out there and make big things HAPPEN!!

Comments

  1. This article is extremely helpful for recent or close to graduating undergrads such as myself. I have contemplated extending my schooling to receive my Masters, and recently decided not to. I’m very happy with my decision especially after reading this article, on-the-job experience is the most valuable!

  2. Thanks for this post! School is too expensive and a Master’s is not necessary for this field. Get in with an agency and work your way up while getting paid is the best route to take.

Leave a Reply

