Editors Read Your Pitches—Really

This post can originally be fond on http://talkingwriting.com

By Lynya Floyd

Tips for Making It Through the Glossy Gates

I’ve been an editor at women’s magazines like GlamourEssence, and Family Circlefor more than a decade. As I worked my way up the masthead, I passed the late-night hours writing freelance stories.

It’s been awhile since I blindly sent a pitch into the void, but I remember the awkward mix of feelings the process evoked. A fellow writer once explained that eager is how you feel when you’re waiting for your mistress to come over to an empty house. Anxious is what you are when your wife invites the mistress for dinner. With each pitch, I felt eager andanxious, thinking this could be my breakthrough, worried that my letter contained an embarrassing typo.

To continue reading http://talkingwriting.com

Leave a Reply

